Rain or Shine: Ueno Park (上野公園)

I think I preferred the post I did about my first day in Kamakura, where I explained my whole day chronologically instead of doing posts on the separate places. So I thought I’d talk about my day in Ueno. That’s Friday July 3, by the way.
Since I was staying in Tokyo for the day and Ueno was pretty close to my hostel I decided to wake up a bit later than usual (8am).
It was raining most of the day so I took my foldable umbrella with me. I actually think this was the day it rained the hardest and most out of the days I was in Japan.

DSCN8347
Ueno Park reminded me a bit of the park in Koganei, but with wider paths.
DSCN8350
Let’s take a moment to appreciate how convenient Japan is…

I arrived to Ueno park just next to the station and decided to take a bit of a walk around before going to the museums. I first came across Toshogu Shrine mostly accidentally, I couldn’t hold the camera properly with my umbrella and bag, so most of today’s photos are blurry or defocused.

DSCN8351

If I remember correctly, this flame at Toshogu Shrine has some connection to the flame in Hiroshima.
The origami paper used to make the birds was very resistant, I picked up the ones in the puddle on the floor and hung them back up, but even then they didn’t break.

DSCN8354

DSCN8357
Hiding from the rain at Toshogu Shrine

DSCN8361

Finally I decided to make my way to Tokyo National Museum since it was starting to really pour down by this point. I got a good discount for the entrance fee with my Grutt Pass and started off at the Toyokan building.
Here there was mostly asian art from countries that aren’t Japan itself, as well as a nice lacquerware and pottery collection on one of the top floors. I remember liking the top floors of this building more than the main building of the museum.

DSCN8369
Tokyo National Museum

As I left Toyokan I made a run for Honkan, the main building, and left my umbrella at the entrance with many others. I definitely loved the kimonos here, I think I might go again some day just for the kimonos! They had amazing patterns and colours, and they had a pretty wide selection. I would’ve liked to see a bit more of the history and culture explained behind some of the objects displayed, since most only had quick explanation of what it was. At the end (or beginning, if you start from the other side) there was a room with a tactile map for blind people and a table with stamps that you could use freely.

They also had a gift shop -I feel like I always comment on the gift shops of museums- but most of the objects were expensive. I did buy a book and a fun flip book though.
I used their bathroom before I left, as well as taking a couple of photos in the photo booth they had downstairs.
The museum was full of school kids and foreign tourists by the time I left, and a crowd of people were starting to accumulate at the entrance for leaving umbrellas, so I was glad I got out in time.

DSCN8378
According to the map that’s Kiyomizu Hall in the background

So off I went to look at the rest of the park and to go to the Shitamachi Museum. It had thankfully stopped raining and only a few drops were falling.

DSCN8377
Benten Hall

The Benten Hall was one of my favourites out of the shrines and temples I saw. It’s nothing too special but has a very calm atmosphere and you forget you’re in the middle of Tokyo.

DSCN8380DSCN8391

One of the features of Ueno Park is the lotus pond. I later found out that you can get a boat on the other side of the lake and paddle around in the water if you like.

DSCN8393

DSCN8386
This is also next to Benten Hall
DSCN8388
And of course more Samefuda

I have no photos of the Shitamachi Museum, but it’s a small building on the outskirts of the park. I heard of this museum because I had a free entry with my Grutt Pass, but it didn’t have many other visitors other than a group of school kids in the toy room.
The first floor is a replica of what a street in the Edo period looked like (with great details!), a guide showed me around for free and was very helpful. The second floor had a temporary exposition about daily life during the second World War in Japan and an area with many traditional toys. You can also get your omikuji, fortune telling, for free from a little interior shrine, at the counter they’ll give you the slip in Japanese or English once you tell them your number.

Jpeg
Lunch. Gyoza with basil are on their way!

I actually intended to pack much more into this day (the Yanaka area and Nezu Jinja were high on my list of things I wanted to see) but after eating lunch near the station and buying a really cool orange suitcase, I was pretty tired from everything I’d been doing the previous days so I simply went back to my hostel to rest.
Ueno Park is big and I definitely forgot to see a few things, so I will have to go back another time!

5 thoughts on “Rain or Shine: Ueno Park (上野公園)

  1. It’s huge! I stayed walking distance from it, right in the middle between Ueno and Akihabara. It was tough to decide which direction to go, but I managed to visit both twice. 🙂 Can’t wait to get my pictures up. 🙂 You inspire me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you! I too was wanting to walk between Ueno and Akihabara (along the river?) but in the end I took the lazy route and hopped onto the train.
      At least I have an excuse to go again 😉

      Like

      1. Actually, if you walk along the train tracks (in your Akihabara post), there are shops under the tracks almost all the way along. Once you get to Ueno, there’s an entire open-air market. It’s endless!!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, that’s it. 🙂 It starts before the station closest to Akihabara though. Hundreds of vendors selling souvenirs, food, clothing, jewellery… you name it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

