Gokurakuji Station to Yuigahama Beach: Kamakura (鎌倉市)

Here’s part one, from Kita-kamakura Station to Daibutsu along the Daibutsu trail.

After leaving Daibutsu I intended to walk to Kamakura Station and hop onto the Enoden Line and head over to Gokurakuji Station, but I saw a temple gate from the road and took a turn up to Hasedera instead. I hadn’t added Hasedera to my itinerary because I thought I wouldn’t have time, but it was only a few of minutes from Daibutsu and right next to where I stopped for “lunch”. It was still 11am so I wasn’t in a hurry. Though at this time the temple was full of people, I’m sure I would’ve enjoyed it more had it been emptier. To be fair, it wasn’t even the weekend (it was a Tuesday) so I’m pretty sure whoever thinks about visiting Hasedera at noon on a Sunday would be pretty overwhelmed.

DSCN8013
I was mostly taking a photo of the tree, which is why the gate isn’t centered properly.
DSCN8041
Road leading to Hasedera. Here you can find a rickshaw if you want to ride through Kamakura. They don’t really target me since I’m one person, but they often say hello to tourists walking around in couples.
DSCN8019
Hasedera main building

DSCN8014

DSCN8031
View of Kamakura downtown from Hasedera. There’s a café in the temple grounds and also a few picnic tables.
DSCN8038
I don’t have a selfie stick so instead I take photos of other people taking selfies. That cave in the background has an amazing quantity of tiny statues all in lines.
DSCN8035
Big Jizo Statue

DSCN8028

DSCN8047
Original painted train at Hase Station

I went to Hase Station instead of Kamakura Station (closer to Gokurakuji = cheaper) and continued my way to Gokurakuji Station. In the first episode of the anime Elfen Lied, one of the characters is seen arriving at Gokurakuji Station -the whole anime is set in Kamakura- and I was on my way to see the places that make an appearance in the anime, walking my way to the beach. It was much more beautiful than I expected and would recommend going to anyone, regardless of whether you’ve seen the show or not. There were no foreign tourists but a few Japanese people were doing the same walk as I did, so maybe it’s popular for some other reason. I doubt everyone was there because of Elfen Lied. There were also many people next to me on the bridge above the train tracks waiting to take a photo of the passing train. I thought I was the only person who loved the train, but I learned later that the Enoden Line is pretty famous and a common spot for train-spotters.

DSCN8052

Screen Shot 2016-02-27 at 12.19.19
Places that appear in the anime

On the opposite side of the station there’s a smaller temple (Gokurakuji Temple) with a pretty entrance full of hydrangeas.

DSCN8068
Gokurakuji Temple
DSCN8059
I’ll leave train photography for those who can actually manage to get the train in the photo properly
DSCN8089
Nice stairs and cables seen from Jojuin

Once you leave the station you take a turn to the left and all you have to do is head downhill. You’ll soon come to Jojuin Temple at the top of some stairs: the view of the beach and Kamakura town from the top is stunning. Kamakura graveyard and a small shrine full of white banners are seen along the road, and it’s just generally a nice and quick walk.

DSCN8082

7
View from Jojuin Temple!

DSCN8103

DSCN8111

DSCN8084

After the graveyard I decided to take a turn to the right and walk between the houses instead of down the main road, finding a few squirrels running along the electrical cables and rooftops as well as a couple of smaller shrines. Even if you try to get lost in the little lanes between houses, the beach is hard to miss since it stands out so much, so eventually I came out and crossed the road that runs along beside the beach and down next to the shore.

DSCN8113
I’m trying to get lost between the houses.

DSCN8123

There was a class of schoolchildren picking up glass along the beach, although a few of them were distracted. I mostly spent about an hour just walking along the beach until I headed back into town and found my hostel for the night. It was only about 3pm once I arrived, so I took a stroll through the town until I found a konbini, bought some food and returned to the hostel to talk to the other guests for the rest of the day. There was a guy who was cycling around Japan, I don’t know if he was doing just selected bits instead of the whole country since he arrived to Yokohama by Ferry, but he had some good stories to tell. He told me he’d just seen Miyakejima’s volcano from the ferry -or more likely it was Mt.Mihara from Oshima since Miyakejima is pretty far out-, so I was glad to talk to him about Japanese locations and where he’d been to.

DSCN8137
Yuigahama Beach!

DSCN8133DSCN8141

DSCN8155
A colourful lady painting a colourful restaurant.

DSCN8144

DSCN8143
Eventually I started walking along the road instead of the beach since I was looking for my hostel.

DSCN8165DSCN8163

DSCN8157
I found a baseball park with a train trailer next to it. There was a boy in here playing on his DS but he left when I came. I’m sorry I disturbed your peace and quiet, little kid!
DSCN8167
I love the amount of electricity cables in Japan. I’d never seen so many together before.

All in all, the photos I took as comparisions of the places in the anime to the places in real life were pretty well achieved, I think.

 

6 thoughts on “Gokurakuji Station to Yuigahama Beach: Kamakura (鎌倉市)

  1. Whats Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & aid different customers like its helped me. Good job.

    Like

  2. I ran across your blog when trying to research Kamakura and have to say it’s extremely helpful and wanted to reach out to thank you.

    I’m making a trip to Tokyo next week and am going to head out to Kamakura. I’ve never watched anime before (besides pokemon) so I ended up binge watching elfen lied because of your blog. I enjoyed it and figured it would add some fun to see the locations in person!

    I’ll be using your route as a reference point to try to match it. Thanks again and all the best! Hopefully I don’t get TOO lost.
    -Brian

    Like

Leave a Reply

